Tools for Advancing Patient-Centered Medical Device Clinical Trials

MDICx: Tools for Advancing Patient-Centered Medical Device Clinical Trials

June 18, 2019, 12 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 9 a.m. PT

Industry, FDA and patient groups recognize the importance and value of patient input in the ideation, design, testing and approval of new medical device technologies, but often struggle to elicit and incorporate patient input in a meaningful way. Patients can identify outcomes that are meaningful, risks that they would be willing to tolerate, and practices that can decrease the burden of participation in clinical trials.  MDIC is developing a suite of tools to help medical device companies solicit input from patients and patient groups on clinical trial design elements that are aligned with patients’ real-world priorities. Attendees will learn about the development of these tools that they can implement in their own clinical trials to develop clinical trials that measure what matters to patients and that patients can complete.

Speakers:

  • Matt McCarty, ICON PLC
  • Mike Otlewski, MED Institute

Download Slides